we’re going to do an IUI

Through the past year and a half of trying to get pregnant, miscarrying, having surgeries and the ongoing fertility testing for both my husband and me, there’s been one saving grace, one bit of solace and security.

We have awesome health insurance.

I feel grateful for it every day. My husband’s consulting firm pays 100% for our insurance. And our insurance pays for 100% of anything you can imagine. All fertility testing and treatment. IUI’s. IVF. Surgery. Therapy. Acupuncture. We are only responsible for a $5 co-pay and $2 for prescriptions. I am so incredibly thankful that through the stress and heartache of this struggle we never had to worry about money.

Until now. He’s changing jobs. And now, like every other American, we have to fret and worry about what will be covered and what massive expenses we’ll be responsible for.

My blood pressure rises and my heart aches when I think of how perfectly this would have worked in our favor had we not had our pregnancy losses. The running joke at my husband’s firm is that you can have a baby for $5. That elusive $5 baby that never was. 

I try to keep perspective and remember, we were so lucky to have the insurance that we had during this time, when we needed it most. I try to think of all the money we saved, rather than how much more money we’ll now need to spend.

I know so many of you are paying out of pocket for these huge expenses. I know we’ve been incredibly lucky, and I don’t take anything for granted. And I know money is just money, and what really matters most is that we get a healthy baby one day.

But given that we have just one month left before my husband changes jobs and we lose our coverage, we decided with my RE to be aggressive this month. Since our main problem is staying pregnant rather than getting pregnant, my RE had been encouraging us to try naturally for a few months, with no drugs or assistance (besides progesterone and baby aspirin). But in light of our waning coverage, we decided to do an IUI.

I’m excited, but once again, afraid to be too hopeful.

I went in for a CD3 ultrasound, where she said my lining looked good and I had 25 lovely little follies. She prescribed me Femara, a lighter version of Clomid, which is supposed to have fewer side effects. I’m taking 5mg a day for 5 days, and will return on CD10 to see how my follicles have grown. At that point she’ll let us know when to do the trigger shot, and hopefully schedule the IUI.

I couldn’t stop asking her about all the things that could go wrong. If I developed cysts, would we cancel the cycle? If I developed too many follicles, would we cancel? What if my body doesn’t respond to the Femara? What are our chances of this working?

I just can’t imagine anything going as it should at this point.

And once again, I feel pressure for this to work. Our last bit of that glorious fertility coverage. I’m hoping the fertility gods send a little love our way.

23 thoughts on “we’re going to do an IUI

  1. Oh I bet you do feel the pressure but try to imgaine only positive things coming from this cycle. Clear your mind of any negative because that’s just the enemy trying to plant doubt and fear into your mind. I’m praying for you and even if this doesn’t work THIS time around, God is a rich God and He will meet every single one of your needs. He would never lead you down a path that He hasn’t already cleared a way for. Stay hopeful 🙂 xo

    waitingforbabybird.com

    Like

    • Thanks so much for the encouraging words, Elisha! It’s always so scary to get too hopeful, but I’ve been thinking I should experiment this cycle and try to stay completely positive and believe it WILL work. Let’s see if it helps! ❤ ❤

      Like

      • But if we look forward to something we don’t yet have, we must wait patiently and confidently. Romans 8:25

        another version says, But if we hope for what we do not see, with perseverance we wait eagerly for it.

        This is one of my favorite verses because it reminds me to continually stay in hope from month to month, cycle to cycle. We must be patient and persevere and not give up in our hope or confident belief.

        xo

        Like

  2. Sending you so many good vibes for this IUI and cycle. Just focus on the positives: You have the means to do this, there’s no reason why it shouldn’t work, your body knows how to get pregnant, etc… FX!

    Like

  3. Good luck with Femara and the IUI. Hopefully to ease your mind, with my time on Femara, the most mature follicles I have produced are two and, like you, I don’t necessarily need help producing 1. So my fingers are crossed that there won’t be too many!

    Like

  4. That coverage really is amazing! I don’t blame you for doing all you can to maximize on your last month of coverage. With the thought that this job change is the beginning of lots of positive change to come, I’m feeling very hopeful for you that this will be your cycle 🙂 Praying it all goes smoothly!

    Like

  5. I can’t blame you for wanting to maximize your insurance as well. That is the best insurance I’ve ever heard of! I think between the surgeries and this IUI you’ve done everything you can to get yourselves a perfect little baby. I feel very positive about your odds this time and you should feel that way too!

    Like

  6. I think it’s great you’re doing all you can to use of what awesome coverage you have left. I remember when my husband and I moved back to the States from Brazil, we couldn’t afford health insurance, as we’re both self-employed. It was a scary time worrying that we might have an accident or worse, so I get how blessed you’ve been. We feel the same now that we’re covered, although our insurance isn’t nearly as wonderful as yours.

    I will be keeping you in my heart, Alexis, and hope that this month will bring good things.

    With baby blessings,
    Dani

    Like

Leave a Reply

